Setting up admin controls on sharing and publishing content
Restrict who can share content with people outside the team.
You can apply the following restrictions in Settings:
- Who can share designs outside of Canva
- This includes external email, public embeds and view links, sharing to third-party apps, and link access to designs.
- Note: Available publishing destinations, sharing options, and supported integrations may change over time as Canva and connected platforms update their features and permissions.
- This includes external email, public embeds and view links, sharing to third-party apps, and link access to designs.
- Domains allowed for private embeds
- Specify which domains team members can share private embeds with.
This feature is available to Canva Enterprise only. Learn more about Canva Enterprise.
Restrict sharing designs outside of Canva
- From the homepage, go to your account profile, then select Settings.
- Select Permissions.
- Go to the Share and publish tab.
- Select the dropdown icon to update the settings on these fields:
- Who can share designs externally via links?
- Who can share designs to external emails?
- Choose who to assign access to:
- Everyone
- Team admins and team brand designers
- Team admins only
- No one
- Add domains to your allowlist to enable private embeds, to add secured domains where all members can share private embeds.
Restrict external designs
As a team admin, you can restrict selected roles or groups from opening Canva designs created outside your team.
A common use case is for schools that want to prevent students from accessing designs created outside their Canva for Education team.
When you enable this setting for a role or group:
- The restricted role or group can’t open designs created outside your team.
- External designs created outside your team won’t appear in Home or search unless they were opened before you enabled the restriction. In that case, they may still appear in Recents, but they won’t be able to open them.
- Notifications for external designs are limited
Set up restrict external designs
- From the homepage, go to your account profile, then select Settings.
- Select Permissions.
- Open Safety and collaboration.
- Update the setting for external design access.
- Choose the roles or groups you want the restriction to apply to.
Depending on your team setup, this setting may have different default access levels.
If someone on your team can't open a design shared from outside your team, share the Can’t edit or open a shared design help page with them.
You can also change the restrict external designs setting for their role or group. Before you do, consider whether allowing external designs is consistent with your organization's policies.
Restrict scheduling and publishing posts with Content Planner
To restrict who can schedule and where to publish posts in Content Planner, see Setting up permissions for your team.
Was this helpful?
Helpful
Unhelpful